How Many Countries Are There In South America?

There are 21 countries in South America.

South America has an area of 17,840,000 km2 or almost 11.98% of Earth’s total land area. By land area, South America is the world’s fourth largest continent after Asia, Africa, and North America. South America is almost twice as big as Europe by land area and is marginally larger than Russia. South America has a coastline that measures around 25,427 km. There are four different time zones in South America: UTC -5, UTC -4, UTC -3, and UTC -2.

The 19th century saw a great push for independence and decolonization in South America, with every country having gained independence by 1825. The 20th century brought with it military regimes and corruption, as well as a crippling debt crisis. However, it was during this time that South America also underwent a great period of industrialization and advancement.

The countries in South America are Argentina, America, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

South America is the fourth largest continent, the southern of the two continents of the Western Hemisphere. It is divided politically into 12 independent countries— Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela —and the overseas department of French Guiana. The continent extends c.4,750 mi (7,640 km) from Punta Gallinas, Colombia, in the north to Cape Horn, Chile, in the south. At its broadest point, near where it is crossed by the equator, the continent extends c.3,300 mi (5,300 km) from east to west. South America is connected to North America by the Isthmus of Panama; it is washed on the N by the Caribbean Sea, on the E by the Atlantic Ocean, and on the W by the Pacific Ocean.

Most of the population of South America lives near the continent’s western or eastern coasts while the interior and the far south are sparsely populated. Brazil is the world’s fifth-largest country by both area and population. Identifying Uruguay, Suriname, and Guyana may be a little tougher to find on an online map. This interactive educational game will help you dominate that next geography quiz on South America.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous post What are 5 key things to running a successful business?
Next post How Can We Improve Your Business Financials?